ca. 8,000 B.C.E.
glaciers of the last Ice Age retreat and Salmon runs return to the site; a village eventually known as known as xɬ’xausalt begins a period of continuous human in-habitation, in a temperate valley of stunning beauty and wonder.
Snohomish County is established in the new Washington Territory (est. 1851). Native Skykomish inhabitants experience depredations of disease and displacement. European exploration and settlement begin in earnest.
Post Office and Railway Station are established at what will become the Index townsite.
Town of Index is platted by Amos and Persis Gunn on their mining claim. Great Northern RR transcontinental mainline completed through town providing direct connection to Seattle and Minneapolis, still active today. The Bush House has been found on photos dated as early as 1893.
Sunset Mine, located 5 miles east of Index, begins pulling large amounts of copper, stimulating the Town’s economy
Bush House is recorded as built next to the GNRR (now BNSF) railroad at 308 Index Ave (present location)
Town of Index is incorporated (October 11, 1907)
University of Washington Students Majoring in Mining use the Bush House.
Lee Pickett continues documenting the Bush House through his photography: 1910s-30s.
Descendants of the Gunn/Doolittle Families own and live in the Bush House
Ed Work, local miner and entrepreneur lives in the Bush House
Bush House is bought by the Sutton family and undergoes major upgrades
1960s, 1970s, 1980s
through ownership changes, the Bush House and Index remain popular sites for hikers, fishermen, climbers, kayakers, weddings, artists and photographers throughout the region. (your pictures and stories needed!)
Nordstroms purchase the Bush House from Sutton family and make cosmetic repairs, install a new septic and drain field, enhance the long-standing reputation of the destination restaurant.
Earthquake damages south side of the building, knocking it off foundation rocks. That portion of the building is condemned
Easter 2001 Bush House, Inc. restaurant serves it’s last meals under Nordstrom
Bush House, Inc. closes it’s doors
The Bush House building and south cottage go on the market for $720K (needing an estimated 800K of restoration)
The Cottage Lot is sold off separately
Storms damage much the roof and the perimeter porch
Vandals break in and destroy much of the historic glass & fixtures throughout the building
Bush House is purchased from Nordstrom family. Sale is finalized on December 28, 2011.
Bush House gets a new foundation, new roof, and structural improvements. The rear (condemned) addition is removed.
New and restored windows, new siding, and interior updates begin
Ongoing updates, mainly to the interior of the building
Bush House adds new partners Dan and Carol to the ownership team, with their with third generation Index, and long historical, associations.
The exterior of the building receives a facelift. New double-pane windows duplicating look of the originals installed throughout.
The 2nd story event space at the back of the building is rebuilt and updates continue inside and out, including a new in-floor hot water heating system keeping the hotel’s original look while providing modern comfort. Bush House accepted into the National Historic Registry.
Electrical wiring and plumbing completely re-installed, internet wiring to all guest rooms and event spaces installed.
A full sprinkler, alarm and security system integrated as discretely as possible.
a small lift system discretely installed, providing full ADA access to the second floor event space and rooms. Emergency power generation system installed. Drywall replaced throughout building.
Original 2nd floor fir floors restored to an antique beauty, handsome new hardwood floors installed on first floor and in lower event room. Kitchen hood, walk-in refrigerator, full work equipment installed. New period-compatible, low-flow plumbing installed throughout, interior painting completed.
he Bush House Inn reopens its updated guest rooms with lodging available year-round